Jesus: The Light and Giver of Life

 

5546272683_12761c31c6_o

Head of Jesus Christ by Edward Runci.

I began this post in the process of sharing a Bible verse on Facebook which gradually began to develop more before my very eyes.

As I was organizing the post, I began to recall previous chapters I read and took notice of a certain theme that had evolved from chapter to chapter–just like the blind man, my spiritual eyes were also being opened, you see.

My Facebook post began to lengthen considerably until finally I decided that this should be my latest blog entry. Without further ado, please enjoy!

“So Jesus said to them, “My time is not yet here, but the time is always right for you. The world cannot hate you, but it hates me, because I testify to it that its works are evil.”

–John 7:6-7; New American Bible Revised Edition

So sad but true. We all like to pretend we’re always in the right and justify our own sinful ways, but it’s not until you begin to see the truth, the divine truths given to us by God, that you begin to see the light in all things. “Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life” (John 8:12).

In the very next chapter he cures a blind man but he not only opens his eyes, but also opens his heart to spiritual truth. Thus, curing his blindness completely: physically and spiritually.

“Then Jesus said, “I came into this world for judgment, so that those who do not see might see, and those who do see might become blind.”

–John 9:39

Please open your hearts to Jesus’ words so that you do not remain spiritually blind forever and condemn yourselves in the process. Those that intentionally ignore divine wisdom are still of this world and its master.

devil_over_the_world“Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and am here; I did not come on my own, but he sent me. Why do you not understand what I am saying? Because you cannot bear to hear my word. You belong to your father the devil and you willingly carry out your father’s desires.

He was a murderer from the beginning and does not stand in truth, because there is no truth in him. When he tells a lie, he speaks in character, because he is a liar and the father of lies. But because I speak the truth, you do not believe me. Can any of you charge me with sin? If I am telling the truth, why do you not believe me? Whoever belongs to God hears the words of God; for this reason you do not listen, because you do not belong to God.”

–John 8:42-47

 

Choose to pursuit God now and remember it’s never too late while your heart is still beating. In the Parable of the Prodigal Son, the Father rejoiced when his lost son returned to him and yet again when Jesus relates the parable of the shepherd finding the lost 100th sheep. He still had the 99 but never stopped looking for that one single lost sheep and when it was finally found, in it he rejoiced the most!

All sinners who return to God are like the lost prodigal son and the 100th sheep in whom he will rejoice the most, “he was lost and has been found” (Luke 15:32).

 

God is waiting for you and even now I bet he’s made many attempts to bring you back to the flock. Why ignore God’s call any longer? For what, some temporary worldly pleasure? God’s promises are eternal.

“Provide money bags for yourselves that do not wear out, an inexhaustible treasure in heaven that no thief can reach nor moth destroy. For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be.”

–Luke 12:33-34

 

Therefore, in what you may think you’ll miss that is of this world in your lifetime by choosing to pursuit God, you will gain far richer treasures in the next for all of time. And you will see that what you truly have missed was something more than this world, a longing for something greater and more transcending–fellowship with our Almighty Creator. Who alone can truly satisfy that deep craving you’ve had all of your life but which you never could explain. Those that don’t know what the deeper meaning of life is have never truly known God. But I assure you, friends, he’s waiting for you and is waiting to feed that deep craving of yours.

 

San_Leocadio_Christ_with_the_Host

Christ with the Host by Paola da San Leocadio

“Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst” –John 6:35

“On the last and greatest day of the feast, Jesus stood up and exclaimed, “Let anyone who thirsts come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as scripture says:

‘Rivers of living water will flow from within him.’”

He said this in reference to the Spirit that those who came to believe in him were to receive.” –John 7:37-39

 

So I’ll end this post with a final question:

Are you hungry for the Word of God?


 

Thanks for reading my blog! If you enjoyed reading, please give me a follow, like, comment, and share. 

Be safe and may God bless you all, my friends!

–Dan

2 thoughts on “Jesus: The Light and Giver of Life

  1. thank for the great words Dan. I enjoyed reading them. I think really you would enjoy Lee STrobel’s journey of discovery and faith also. Keep up the writing man. Am getting into archaelogy of those times also, grabbed some good books on it lately too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

